Review of Paul McKenna’s I Can Make You Sleep book and hypnosis CD

Paul McKenna's I Can Make You Sleep ReviewPros: The book is filled with excellent sleep tips and sleep hygiene, such as only using your bed for sleep and sex, using white noise in the bedroom, avoiding bright lights at night, etc. Sleep hygiene is the bread and butter of legitimate sleep therapy and these tips will doubtlessly help many insomniacs. The hypnosis CD itself was quite pleasant sounding and well-produced, and may help those with certain kinds of insomnia.

Cons: I’m stick to death of his stupid, sexy voice. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a beautiful, melodic voice in its own right. But I listened to his hour-long sleep hypnosis CD every night for an entire month, and if anything it made my insomnia worse. Many who suffer from chronic insomnia actually have a phobia towards it. The more you worry about falling asleep, the less likely you are to actually fall asleep. McKenna’s voice in my ear was a constant reminder of my insomnia. And in the back of my mind, I always worried: what if I get to the end of his hour-long inane drivel and am still wide awake?

Plus, McKenna’s shtick of neuro-linguistic programing is, at best, on shaky scientific ground. Most eye-raising was his claim that the prose of the book itself was written in just such a way to make you fall asleep. Riiiiiiight.

Bonus Con (pro?): Paul McKenna’s crooning voice made me question my sexuality. His technique of “hypnosis” is to whisper his throaty bedroom growl directly in your ear. He already has best-selling hypnosis CDs titled I Can Make You Quit Smoking and I Can Make You Thin. His next best seller could be: I Can Make You Confusingly Aroused. Listen to his sexy growl here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZ5MoMpT3_4

Rating: 3 Z

Share your sleep hypnosis stories in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

